Sara Belles

Name: Sara Belles

Current Hometown: Brookfield 

Family members we might see at a race: Most likely Evan ( middle son) and Aaron (youngest son- the one with the red hair). 

Ian,  my oldest, if he’s not doing soccer related stuff and my husband John, who takes Ian on his soccer escapades. 

Current Employment: Math Teacher  at Waterbury Adult Ed (Connecticut is one of the few states that allows individuals to get their high school diploma past 21.)

Current running interest: (Trail? Mountain? Speed? Ultra? Staying injury free?) 

I just like to run a lot but I’m constantly working on improvement and adapting as I get older. 

Favorite race: New Haven 20k

Race you have done the most times: White Memorial cross country 5k.

High School/College running programs:

Ran Cross country and track at Brewster High School. I also ran one semester at SUNY New Paltz.

Hobbies: Running, reading about running (or any physiology books) and raising 3 boys.  (Who say my hobbies are cleaning and folding laundry!)

A favorite quote:

Alice: This is impossible.

The Mad Hatter: Only if you believe it is.

~Lewis Carroll

What you listen to on a road trip: 90’s alternative music. I can’t believe it isn’t still 1999!

Something that makes you weird: I won a pickle juice drinking contest, which required me to drink 32 ounces through a straw. 

Youthful PRs: I only remember running an 11:53 in the 3200 my junior year an hour after finishing the SATs.
Open PRs: Marathon- 2:56; half -1:26, 10k- 39:49